Reviews

Whether you want to learn more or help others find Charlie’s Excavation by sharing your experience you can do so through reviews.

  • Reviews on Google Maps.
  • Or see what others are saying and share your comments below:
Rated 5 out of 5
December 19, 2020

I used Charlie for a new build construction job. Blackberry clearing, general excavation and pad leveling, tree removal, backfill and utility hookups. Charlie knew more about what the county and builder needed than I did. His work was excellent and his prices were reasonable.

Brian O
Rated 5 out of 5
October 24, 2020

Charlie’s excavation did an amazing job on my property. I needed a large retaining wall across my property. It looks so professional and will last for many years to come. His prices are very reasonable and the job was started and finished within a month.

Carol Hayes
Rated 5 out of 5
July 13, 2020

Charlie did an excellent job turning an overgrown lot with an old foundation into a perfect camping oasis! His bid came in under the other 2 local bids that I received. He finished the work on time and right on budget. I could not be happier!!!

Kristin A
Rated 5 out of 5
March 30, 2020

Charlie’s did a great job for me. At first I hired a different contractor to clean my lot and install a pad for a garage and bot did he do a terrible job. He didn’t get the ground tapered right. He completely forgot to install the level pad for the garage, busted my bench all up and chipped the concrete on my fireplace with his excavator then denied doing it. On the other hand Charley was a pleasure to deal with, and his crew is amazing. They were reasonably priced and acted in a timely professional manner installing the level base for the garage. And while waiting for the next load of gravel they just grabbed rakes and tapered my yard the way I wanted it done that was left a mess from the first guy. Overall I highly recommend Charlies.

Marshall Eberling
Rated 5 out of 5
November 29, 2019

Charlie has cleared our lot and also brought in truckloads of sand to build our lot up. He is honest, professional and we will also be using Charlie for future jobs at our house. We highly recommend Charlie . He will take care of you.

Mark Odekirk
Rated 5 out of 5
November 3, 2019

Wanted a ni maintenance yard. They did fantastic job in clearing my yard, leveling and putting red/black rock down. Would only go through them.

Karen Current
Rated 5 out of 5
September 6, 2019

We are so pleased with Charlie and the work he did for us. We bought a lot in Ocean Shores and needed some Excavation, water, sewer and electricity. Charlie was so helpful and asked what our end goal was. Based on that he gave suggestions that would benefit us in the long run. Kept us up to date and completed everything quickly like he said he would. Charlie was responsive, professional and timely. I highly recommend him to anyone needing work done.

Theresa Metcalf
Rated 5 out of 5
September 6, 2019

The first time I spoke with Charlie on the phone, I knew he was our guy. I had called a couple other places and got very little information and a two week wait time. Charlie told me all about the process I would be going through as a first time home builder and what to expect and when to expect it. He answers every call I make and is always patient with all my questions. We finally got the clearing permit for our lot in Ocean Shores and he was out there doing the job. We drove down to have a look and he took time to talk to us. so our lot is clean and ready for the next step and I have faith that he will guide us through that and every step till the builders take over . I wish everyone could work with Charlie who needs an excavators expertise. I recommend him highly and I would refer friends and family to him. While being a true professional, he is also a really nice guy . Looking forward to building our retirement home with Charlie in our corner.

Don and Gayle Kimmel
Rated 5 out of 5
August 10, 2019

We had our driveway at our lot in ocean shores done by Charlie and crew couldn’t be more pleased.Charlie met us at our lot and we discussed what we wanted done and within a few weeks when had time he did exactly what we wanted under bid price.Very happy.

DON ASELTINE
Rated 5 out of 5
May 24, 2019

We couldn’t be happier with the results that Charlie has done with our property & we will highly recommend him to anyone wanting site prep done in Ocean Shores area. He had our lot cleared, leveled ,raked & the water,sewer & electricity connected while we were out of state . Knowing what we wanted he did the job with total professionalism & honesty. A great job done & a great guy to work with.

Allan Doherty/Rod Tilley
Rated 5 out of 5
April 29, 2019

I had to prepare a brushy site to receive a 16×40 ft she shed. Charlie was easy to work with, prompt in his service and provided what he said he would. I would recommend him to family.

Richard
Rated 5 out of 5
March 10, 2019

Charlie’s excavation prepped my site for the house I’m building. He and his crew did an exceptional job, clearing the land, and digging the hole for the house. I would strongly recommend him for any excavation needs.

Chad Gruber
Rated 5 out of 5
February 11, 2019

Charlie is wonderful and a great guy. He’ll do good work, follow through on everything and help you through your project like no one else I was super happy to discover his services and pleased with the quality Paul Royce, Westport, WA

Paul Royce
Rated 5 out of 5
January 29, 2019

We are building our retirement home in Ocean Shores. We chose Charlie’s Excavation for our clearing, dirt work and site prep. From the very beginning Charlie was prompt and reliable. Charlie cleared our two lots, prepped the land for the foundation, ran water, power, and sewer hookups. After he completed the job, 3 months afterward, the builder requested some work. Charlie responded and handled their needs.Charlie has made the process a lot smoother. He stuck to his estimate and did a fantastic job. The wife and I are more than pleased with his work and attention to detail.
He was a vital part in making our dream come true.

Ralph and Laura Hyett
Rated 5 out of 5
January 28, 2019

Called Charlie based from some one elses great recommendation. He met me at the time he said, discussed what was needed/wanted and an estimate of what it would take on dollars and time frame, then shook hands. He did the job when he said he would, and came in a little under budget. Time is important to me, and trust is even bigger. This guy is top notch. Thank you Charlie for a great job, and being a dependable, trustworthy person. Its tough to find these days!

Brian K
Rated 5 out of 5
December 30, 2018

We bought a lot in Ocean Shores that needed to be cleared. This was a new experience for us and didn’t know who to call, we spoke with Charlie and another company. Charlie met us on the property the next day and gave us an estimate. The other company sent an email estimate 2 weeks later. Charlie took care of everything on just a handshake. We live in Eastern Washington, so Charlie kept us updated by pictures and phone conversations.Everything was completed as we wanted and the property looks great. We would highly recommend Charlie’s services.

Ed and Teri Hixson
Rated 5 out of 5
November 12, 2018

Charlie did a fantastic job clearing and grading out lot. All work was completed exactly as promised and we were extremely happy to hire the contractor. Charlie is a stand up guy and truly believes in a the value of a mas word and a hand shake. We definitely hire them again.

Richard Vereecken
Rated 5 out of 5
October 22, 2018

Charlie is a professional! Great to work with and his work is the best! He always took the time to explain everything and treated me as though I was his only client. I would recommend Charlie any day!

Cindi Netzer
Rated 5 out of 5
August 21, 2018

Charlie and his crew are great to work with. Everyone from the tree experts to the operators are top notch professionals and very easy to work with. I’ve worked with directly with contractors and subcontractors for the last 40 years and I can say with 100% certainty these guys are among the very best. I give them my highest recommendation without reservation.

Robert Holmes
Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2018

Charlie was prompt on coming to look at our project and showed up for all subsequent meetings. His crew is very skilled and delivered a final product just as we asked. Great working relationship!

Kevin
Rated 5 out of 5
June 6, 2018

We were working with another excavator that kept putting us off, after an agreed upon start date, so he could take care of his regular customers. We saw Charlies ad in the Ocean Shores Community Newspaper and he called us immediately. Met us at our lot the next day and agreed that he could start the following Tuesday. We are extremely happy that things worked out this way, because Charlie has been amazing in how he has helped us through the process. He did an great job of clearing the lot, the has been there every time we met with the builder about placement. He had great suggestions and took great care in building us a pad, for our motorhome that would be out of the way during construction, and has also been available as a resource in answering questions about the process. Overall, we have felt that Charlie has not only done great work but also has been a great source of council through this process. Charlie has always been available to meet with us any time we needed him for advice or to follow up on the work he had just completed. We would highly recommend him and look forward to working with him through the completion of our home building project.

Jim and Vicki
Rated 5 out of 5
December 25, 2017

Charlie did a great job setting us up with water and sewer connections. He left the site looking great after a lot of work. Thanks Charlie!

David Snodgrass
Rated 5 out of 5
October 24, 2017

Charlie and his crew are the best, they came out and cleared our lot and made it look terrific. I highly recommend him and his great group of guys. He asked me what we wanted every day and made sure the job was done to our satisfaction. We will have him out to do more of the work when needed.

Diana Crawford
Rated 5 out of 5
August 20, 2017

What a relief! Charlie took care of everything. I hired Charlie after a few months of frustration. I thought, we have to do everything ourselves. I had bought an estate in Division 12, Ocean Shores. I tried to get rid of “stuff” and get the necessary permits to remove structure. The lady from the city’s permit department handed me some business cards. Charlie responded immediately. From that time on everything became easy. Within a month, Charlie had necessary paperwork, cleaned out the place, removed building and concrete, and prepared it for new building. I highly recommend him.

Gudrun Loewers
Rated 5 out of 5
July 31, 2017

Charlie cleared out lot in Ocean Shores. He was totally accommodating to our wishes. The lot looks great!

Sandra Johnson
Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2017

Charlie Wessner at Charliedirt.com was recommended to us by Stangland, like Rodney and Sheryl, but in our case for the installation of a septic tank riser. Charlie responded to my call rapidly and had a skilled individual on site to complete the work on time and below the quote. This job had some complication which was addressed professionally and creatively.
While at our North Beach area home, Charlie and I spoke about our need for additional gravel for our sloped driveway. Charlie recommended 1 1/4″- gravel, rolled and compacted. He provided a reasonable bid and the work was completed professionally and on time.
We thank Charlie and his team very much and can recommend them without reservation.

Jim Gore
Rated 5 out of 5
February 28, 2017

We called Charlie on the recommendation of Stangland Septic Service because we thought there may be a problem with our drain field. And, indeed, there was – a big one! It had completely failed and we needed to replace it immediately. Charlie gave us a fair and honest bid and immediately began working on getting a new drain field in for us. He knew exactly what needed to happen and he got right on top of it. He seemed to have a very good relationship with the folks he needed to work with in the county and we had a new drain field in less than a week. To the person, everyone on his team was very professional and knowledgeable. Charlie’s bid was spot on and he did everything he committed to. Our yard looks even better now than it did before!!! He was great to work with and we would highly recommend him to anyone looking for excavation services. Thank you, Charlie!!

Rodney & Sheryl
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2017

Charlie owns the RV park next door to my lot. He has transformed a trashy rundown old trailer park into a beautiful upscale RV park that has upped the value of my adjoining land tremendously. He has helped me with upgrading my property with his knowledge and professional assistance. If you want a courteous, informed individual to do your work I can not give anyone in the area a higher rating.

Pete Parker
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2017

Called Charlie for a bid. He was able to understand what type of gravel I needed for my gravel scaped front yard over the phone just from my description. The bid was good and delivery was the next day which was way faster than I expected. Charlie noted that the easiest route into my yard was not the best as it would damage my driveway (thanks for watching out for the customer!) but put that gravel exactly where I needed it. It’s such a close match to what was already there. Because he put it right in the middle of the project, it was easy to spread by shovel and rake. Getting compliments from the neighborhood already! Thanks, Charlie. You really delivered 🙂

Charlene & Robert
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2017

I was recommended by a friend to talk to Charlie, right after we talked he was already in motion to install my culvert, he finished the job cleanly and professional. and it looks like he did a great job. Thanks again Charlie and Pacific Shores, Erik Jimmink Ocean shores wa/ ca

Erik Jimmink